Type to search

Senate passes army chief’s tenure bill within 20 minutes


Senate passes army chief’s tenure bill within 20 minutes

News Desk

The Senate on Wednesday bulldozed the three bills concerning the tenure of the three services chiefs — chief of army staff, chief of air staff and chief of naval staff — and the chairman of the joint chief of staff committee, a day after the National Assembly passed these bills.

With the two major opposition parties — PML-N and PPP — already on board, the opposition-dominated upper house passed the bills in no time, which will now become acts of parliament after formal assent by President Dr Arif Alvi.

The bills, which were approved by the house’s standing committee on defence yesterday, were moved for voting, one after the other, by Defence Minister Pervez Khattak.

Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani then put up these bills for a voice vote after a clause by clause reading of the amendments, with a majority of members in the upper house calling out “Aye”.

The session was adjourned immediately after the passage of the bills till Friday, 10:30am.

The bills — the Pakistan Army (Amendment) Bill 2020, the Pakistan Air Force (Amendment) Bill 2020 and the Pakistan Navy (Amendment) Bill 2020 — landed in the Senate on Tuesday. While they were not part of the original agenda issued for the Senate sitting yesterday, they were brought to the upper house through a supplementary agenda. In the absence of Defence Minister Pervez Khatak, the bills were introduced by the Federal Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Azam Swati amid the opposition’s uproar.

The Senate session lasted only 20 minutes and no other agenda other than the laying of a few reports was taken up.

Subsequently, Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani forwarded the three bills to the Senate standing committee for approval, which held an emergency meeting within minutes after adjournment of the Senate sitting and passed them unanimously.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *