Type to search

PTI won majority seats in the Gilgit-Baltistan elections


PTI won majority seats in the Gilgit-Baltistan elections


What happened: The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) has emerged as the single largest party in the elections for the Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly by securing 10 seats. 

Meanwhile Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) which scored three seats and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) two seats.

Majlis Wahdatul Muslimeen (MWM) won one seat. Seven seats of the GBLA have been won by independent candidates.

What experts are saying: Political experts called the elections a test case for the popularity of the country’s three major political parties the PTI, PML-N and PPP. Despite being part of the anti-government opposition PDM, the country’s two main opposition parties the PPP and PML-N still contested the elections in GB against each other.

Facebook Comments

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *