Type to search

Entire Kashmir Valley declared a Covid-19 Red Zone

Entire Kashmir Valley declared a Covid-19 Red Zone


The entire Kashmir region as well as three districts in Jammu are being treated as coronavirus hotspots by the administration in India-occupied Jammu and Kashmir. 

Srinagar, Bandipora, Anantnag, and Shopian were the only four districts classified as red zones initially.

“At this point in time we cannot afford to lower our guard. All the 10 districts of the region will be treated as red zones until further orders,” regional Divisional Commissioner Pandurang Pole told Anadolu Agency.

He also emphasised that with cases growing, there were red zones in every district and infections failed to show a downward trend.

The regions are being classified on the number of cases with government imposed restrictions increasing from green, to orange and then red zones.

Red zone:

Districts of Jammu, Samba and Kathua and all the ten districts of the Kashmir region have been declared red zones.

Orange zone:

Udhampur, Reasi, Ramban, and Rajouri all fall under the orange zone. The country’s health ministry has permitted intra-district movement in orange zones while delivery services for essential items have also been allowed to resume. Offices are also allowed to operate but with a limitation of 30 per cent of original work force. 

Green zone:

Doda, Kishtwar, and Poonch all remain green zones where restrictions have been eased further with all shops except those prohibited by the union territory allowed to reopen.

India has extended the country wide lockdown till the 17th of May, but has lifted some restrictions. 

Facebook Comments